Facebook is undoubtedly the largest social networking site with over 2 billion users monthly. At the same time, many people decide to opt out, e.g. due to further reports of abuse of data privacy that the portal collects. Is it worth deleting your Facebook account?
How do I delete a Facebook account?
Users have two options in this situation: delete the account completely or temporarily deactivate it. What happens when the account is deleted? First of all, a deleted account cannot be reactivated. You will also no longer be able to use the Facebook Messenger application. The profile, photos, posts, videos and all other information you added will be permanently deleted. You will not be able to recover any added content. In addition, you will not be able to use the Facebook Login feature in applications that used your Facebook account. Regaining access to these accounts may require assistance from the relevant applications and websites.
Some information, such as messages you send to friends, may still be visible after you delete your account. Copies of sent messages are stored in the recipients’ inboxes.
How to delete your account step by step
After entering the settings, however, you will only find the “deactivate” option. It’s much safer because it allows us to use the account again at any time if you change your mind. At the same time, the account profile will no longer be visible to other Facebook users and they will not be able to find you. Only some information may still be visible to your friends, e.g. messages sent by you
Go to the Help and after clicking the appropriate link you will be redirected to the page with the form to be completed.
Permanent deletion of an account on FB means that we will not be able to reactivate it or download any content or information added to it. Before sending a request to delete your Facebook account, it’s a good idea to download a copy of your data. To permanently delete your Facebook account, please go to this link https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account. The account is deleted a few days after receiving the application. You still have the option to change your mind – if you log in to your Facebook account again within a few days of notification, this will cancel the removal order. It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backups. At this time, data is not available on Facebook.
Account deactivation – how to do it
If you do not want to permanently delete an account, you can only deactivate it. How do you deactivate a Facebook account? To do this, click on the account menu in the upper right corner of the page, and then select “Settings”. We will be redirected to the next page, where in the column on the left select the “General” settings and then select the “Manage your account” option. After scrolling down the screen you will find the “Deactivate your account” option. This is a less invasive option and leaves you the option of returning to your account without having to create a new one.